

Summary of State Utility Shut-off Moratoriums

States and utilities moved quickly to suspend utility shut-offs due to nonpayment as low-income households struggle with the loss of income due to illness and job loss as a result of COVID-19 pandemic. State-mandated suspensions on utility shut-offs due to nonpayment as a result of COVID-19 are now in place in 30 states and the District of Columbia. Three states issued moratoriums that have recently expired: Montana, Kansas and New Mexico. Utilities in the other 17 states have issued voluntary moratoriums.

Note: This is a list of all utility actions that NEADA is aware of at the time of release. Questions: Please contact Mark Wolfe: <u>mwolfe@neada.org</u> or Cass Lovejoy: <u>Clovejoy@neada.org</u>. Please send additions or updates with source documentation to Elizabeth Eagles: eeagles@neada.org.

Statewide suspensions (30 states & D.C.):

- State-ordered Suspensions of Gas, Electric, and Water (30 states & DC): Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming
- Expired State-ordered Suspensions of Gas, Electric, and Water (3 states): Kansas, Montana, New Mexico
- State-ordered Suspensions of Telecom (13 states & DC): Alaska, California, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Washington, Wyoming
- Expired State-ordered Suspensions of Telecom (2 states): Kansas, Montana

States without suspensions/with voluntary suspensions (17 states):

- States Without Mandatory Suspensions (17 states): Alabama, Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia Note: Though these states have no official moratorium, all 17 of them have some form of voluntary moratorium which varies depending on the state and the specific utility provider
- Voluntary Individual Utility Suspensions (50 states): The Edison Electric Institute (EEI) has
 announced that all its member companies will voluntarily suspend disconnections in response to
 the pandemic. A full list of EEI member utilities is available <u>here</u>. The American Gas Association
 (AGA) has announced that its member companies are committed to working with state public
 utility commissions to "appropriately suspend disconnecting customers from their natural gas
 service." A full list of AGA members is available <u>here</u>.

The calendar of moratorium expiration dates are as follows:

Moratorium end date	Count of states	States
Expired	3	Montana, Kansas, New Mexico
13-Jun	2	Michigan, Texas
14-Jun	3	Colorado, Mississippi, Virginia
15-Jun	1	New Hampshire
27-Jun	1	Illinois
30-Jun	2	Indiana, Hawaii
1-Jul	2	Iowa*, Maryland
17-Jul	1	Rhode Island
28-Jul	1	Washington
29-Jul	1	North Carolina
31-Jul	1	Vermont
15-Nov	1	Alaska
Until end of emergency or further announcements	14	Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Until 15 days after end of emergency	1	District of Columbia
States without state- ordered moratorium	17	Alabama, Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia
Total	51	

Table 1: State-ordered Utility Shut-off Moratoriums on Gas, Electric, and Water

*Municipal utilities/electric cooperatives resumed disconnections on May 28; investor-owned utilities rateregulated by IUB resume disconnections on July 1

	# of U.S. population	% of U.S. population
With state-ordered moratorium	231,822,453	70.6%
Without state-ordered moratorium	96,417,070	29.4%

Table 2: Proportion of U.S. Population Covered by Gas, Electric, and Water Moratoriums